Author Topic: Feeding the affected  (Read 3239 times)

Offline nitehawg

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
Feeding the affected
« on: March 19, 2013, 11:47:48 AM »
Since one of our primary missions is feeding the people affected by a disaster, we would like to hear from those of you who have any experience feeding large groups, say 100 people or so.  Whether you are a professional with formal training or the "go to" person for family reunions or church picnics, we would like your input on things like equipment, types of meals, etc.

Thanks for your help.

Offline PorcupineKate

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Head Weed Puller
Re: Feeding the affected
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2013, 03:09:15 PM »
I am not a professional but I am one of those go to people for various events.  I camp with a group of friends every year.  There are 60 of us and we set up a one kitchen and group hang out spot.

Here is a list of some of the equipment that has come in very handy for this camping trip and my big fat wedding and other parties.  These items are owned by various different friends and we lend stuff to each other as needed.

Propane burners and tanks.  We set up 2 propane grills and a 2 burner stove top to cook on.  We bring extra 5 gallon tanks.

Several of the really big 5 day coolers.

10' by 10' pop up canopies.  Most of the families have 1 or 2 of them.  We pool them and bring 8 or so on the camping trip.   

Several large stock pots that are 4 to 6 gallon size.  They are great for making beer, canning, heating water to wash dishes, and feeding large groups of people.

Some sort of griddle surface.  cast iron or a propane griddle top stove

Long handled ladles, serving spoons, spatulas and tongs.  Stainless steel holds up really well.

Giant serving bowls  are great to have for prep and serving

Chaffing dish frames, aluminum trays and Sterno cans.  I bought them for my wedding and have used them several times a year since.  Tongs and serving spoons