Author Topic: Taking gun off/putting gun on throughout day  (Read 13913 times)

Offline Zuplex

• Survivor
    • Grow Engedi
Taking gun off/putting gun on throughout day
« on: February 04, 2014, 01:18:44 PM »
So my job requires me to often make visits to schools. I am brand new to concealed carry, I just recently got my permit, haven't gotten a pistol, belt, or holster yet. To both carry, which I would prefer to do as often as possible, and do my job, which I would like to keep, I would have to disarm myself before stepping out of my vehicle when in the school parking lot.

Does anyone have a recommendation for a holster/pistol combination that I could easily remove, secure in my vehicle, and put back on without doing a wardrobe change in my sedan? I typically wear a tucked-in button-down shirt and long pants for work.

Offline David in MN

• Survivalist Mentor
Re: Taking gun off/putting gun on throughout day
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2014, 01:34:54 PM »
A Remora holster can slide in and out easily. I have one and like it. It's not as secure but really helps with on/off ability without having to draw.
Livin on a thin line, tell me now what are we supposed to do?

Offline Mr. Bill

• Like a hot cocoa mojito
  • Administrator
  • Forum Veteran
  • Trained Attack Sheepdog/Troll hunter
    • Website maintenance services by Mr. Bill
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2014, 02:37:23 PM »
This is tricky.  You're going to need a routine that prevents you from ever forgetting to disarm.  And also a way to do it that won't cause somebody outside your car to panic and call 911.

I need to figure this out for myself, just because I stop at the Post Office almost every time I leave my home.  In the past, I've put my gun in a locked case in the back of my car before arriving at the PO, and then retrieved it at my next stop.  This is a pain -- and, to be honest, I'm not certain whether it's legal to have a gun in a locked case in the PO parking lot.

Offline CarlD

• Prepper