Author Topic: Inserts Pulling Out of Carbon Arrows - How Common?  (Read 3235 times)

Niccolum

Inserts Pulling Out of Carbon Arrows - How Common?
« on: April 20, 2014, 07:59:13 PM »
Hello all, though I'd dust off this board and ask a question. I'm new to archery and loving it so far, but I have a question about arrows. I have Easton Aftermath carbon arrow shafts with field point tips installed. I have had three arrows have the inserts come completely (2) or almost (1) out of the shaft when pulling them out of a bag-style target (Rinehart Raptor) after only a limited number of firings (<10 each?). In the two that pulled completely out, the arrows were very difficult to pull out of the bag and both of the cases I had to lay the bag down and give it a very hard pull to get them out. When the arrow came out, the insert and point were still in the bag - which I was able to extract with pliers.

Ordinarily I'd assume they were just assembled poorly, but the three arrows were from two different batches of arrows purchased at different shops - one box retailer, one local pro shop. I'm assuming they're reusable when new inserts are installed (I mangled the two with pliers) but I'll find that out shortly.

However my question is has anyone else ever encountered this? I've asked the limited few other archer friends I know and they've never run into this problem. The arrows have never been shot at/into anything other than a target bag and they've never hit the ground either. I can't find anything searching the Internet for it either, although it's a fairly hard thing to search for too. One friend suggested it's something in my target, but I don't know what that could be since it's a normal, commercial bag target - nothing to get stuck. When the arrows do get stuck is seems that the they're tangled on the inner material.

Niccolum

Re: Inserts Pulling Out of Carbon Arrows - How Common?
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2014, 08:07:48 PM »