Author Topic: 40+ apple and fruit trees. What the heck can I do with these?  (Read 28706 times)

Offline ladieu

• Survivalist Mentor
    • Pittsburgh Off-road cyclists
40+ apple and fruit trees. What the heck can I do with these?
« on: October 21, 2009, 03:13:53 PM »
Ok so I am new to TSP. I bought some land, 2 acres, a few years ago. On this land I have around 40 apple trees, 2 peach trees, 1 walnut tree, 1 HUGE chestnut tree, and 2 pear trees.  

The previous owner used to sell to local farmers markets or something like that as a retirement.   When I took over the house he had been dead for many years already and his widow had let everything run wild.  Now some of the trees look very sickly and some are looking very strong.  

The majority of the trees are smashed into a quarter acre tract in the rear of the property and then I have a random smattering of fruit trees throughout the rest of the yard.

I was thinking I would remove the sickly ones and then prune the stronger ones. Should I just prune them all and let the sickly ones come back to health? I'm feeling overwhelmed by all these trees!

What is the best way to approach a local farmers market or grocery?  What do I need to do to sell this as "organic"  

Can I prune now with it being so close to winter or should I wait until winter is over?  

I take some apples every year, but 99% of the apples just fall off and rot on the ground and as a new urban survivalist I can't abide all this waste!! This tree situation is stressing me the heck out. This might seem like a dream situation for a survivalist to find himself in, but for me this has all the makings of another full time job.

So do I get out the loppers or the chainsaw?

I posted this also to the  regional board on here. I am in pittsburgh PA

The apples are pretty good. Any apple experts able to identify the type?

« Last Edit: October 21, 2009, 03:15:56 PM by ladieu »

Offline ubergeek

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Numquam non paratus