Author Topic: My first Squib  (Read 2003 times)

Offline The Sage of Monticello

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Lover of Liberty
My first Squib
« on: January 24, 2010, 12:43:01 PM »
Thought maybe some new reloaders might want to learn from my mistake, stupidity, or lack of experience.  :(

I have been reloading for about 2 years strictly .45 colt for my six gun. However, that's the only weapon I have ever reloaded.

I recently picked up a .45 colt lever action with a 16" barrel. I decided to field test my new long gun. First, I tested my reload with my six gun about 30 yards. Penetration was only about half way through a thick catalog.

In hindsight, the 3 inches of penetration and not going clean through the catalog was a red flag the load was too light.

I already knew my load data and understood the load was close to starting suggested data from a manual.

I fired more rounds from the same load through my six gun, no problems. And was led to believe falsely the load was fine to try on the 16" barrel.

Picked up my lever action, and the first bullet fired became stuck in the barrel.

Researched some solutions like hammer and wood dowel, etc., in removing bullet; however, decided to drop off at a local smith to remove it for $50 bucks. This is a costly mistake as I will find out soon if the barrel is damaged or not.

Offline Gadget

• Senior Survivalist
    • Your Best Defense
Re: My first Squib
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2010, 06:32:37 PM »