Author Topic: Powder Reviews  (Read 9803 times)

Offline CountryRootsCityJob

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Yeehaw :D (Unicycles require little maintenance)
    • Building Rome... as fast as I can!
Powder Reviews
« on: January 25, 2010, 01:47:48 PM »
Okay, I'm just getting into this reloading thing myself... but I've learned something after only 100rds: All powders were not created equally!  I thought it would be nice if we could all talk about what powder we use and how we like it, what we use it for, etc... and those who follow behind us can gain the knowledge. (I'm sure there are other forums out there were it is already discussed... I just don't know where)

So here's my review on:

SR-7625
Use: 45ACP
Price: It was the cheapest powder I could find.  About $19/lb I believe, local gun shop
Performance: Eh, I don't have much to compare it to and any variances are more likely due to me still learning.
Cleanliness:  Horrible... this stuff was worse than the Wolf ammo (Russian) with the steel cases.  Maybe a reflection of price?

~CRCJ

Offline longrifle

• Senior Survivalist
Re: Powder Reviews
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2010, 02:25:19 PM »
I used Unique for my .45 Long Colt rounds. Pretty clean, Load it down for target shooting to a hot load of 9.5 grs to shot out of a '92 Winchester repro. Overall, I like its versatility, use from target shooting to hunting.

longrifle

Offline Duc1

• Survivor
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2010, 05:17:06 PM »
I like to use Universal for my .45 and .40, it's clean and flows nicely through my powder charger.  I use Varget for my .308, .243, and .223.  I was looking for powders that could be used in a broad spectrum of cartridges and asked the guys at Hodgdon what they recommended.   I'm happy with both.

Offline vgun

• Prepper
  • Born to be riled
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2010, 10:48:33 PM »
Titegroup for 9MM
Bullseye for 45 ACP and 38/357

Offline CountryRootsCityJob

• Survivalist Mentor