Author Topic: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE  (Read 9156 times)

Offline CorpsDog

  • Prepper
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« on: November 18, 2010, 11:24:11 PM »
I have been having trouble getting on the website. when i click on the banner it brings up a error page and when i type in the web address i get something about red hat. what can i do to be able to get on the website. thanks for any help .

Offline CorpsDog

  • Prepper
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2010, 11:26:46 PM »
correction ,, i get a forbidden page.

Offline Sister Wolf

  • The Tiffanator
  • Administrator On Leave
  • Forum Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 11963
  • Karma: 365
  • Wanna have an adventure?
    • WilderWolf
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2010, 11:35:34 PM »
http://www.sawtac.com/component/option,com_frontpage/Itemid,1/

click that link.  If it doesn't work, what browser are you using?

Offline sawtac

  • Moderator
  • Senior Survivalist
  • *****
  • Posts: 250
  • Karma: 12
  • Bert the Turtle
    • Sawtooth Tactical
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2010, 01:17:12 AM »
Hmm.  It seems to be working fine for me.  Can you PM me your IP address?  There may be some filter I don't know about.

Offline sawtac

  • Moderator
  • Senior Survivalist
  • *****
  • Posts: 250
  • Karma: 12
  • Bert the Turtle
    • Sawtooth Tactical
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2010, 01:37:05 AM »
CorpsDog, I checked the log files on the server for the IP address you used here.  There is no entry so the problem is likely happening before you reach my server.

Would you mind opening a Command Prompt and typing in:

ping sawtac.com

and posting the output?  It should look something like this:

Pinging sawtac.com [208.131.142.32] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 208.131.142.32: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=55
Reply from 208.131.142.32: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=55
Reply from 208.131.142.32: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=55
Reply from 208.131.142.32: bytes=32 time=93ms TTL=55

Ping statistics for 208.131.142.32:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 89ms, Maximum = 93ms, Average = 91ms


If you are not getting this IP address, 208.131.142.32, then there is some problem resolving to the correct IP address.  That may be a problem with your ISP's DNS server and you may need to talk to them to get it fixed.

Offline CorpsDog

  • Prepper
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2010, 11:45:27 PM »
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>PING SAWTAC.COM

Pinging SAWTAC.COM [208.131.142.32] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 208.131.142.32: bytes=32 time=118ms TTL=49
Reply from 208.131.142.32: bytes=32 time=124ms TTL=49
Reply from 208.131.142.32: bytes=32 time=130ms TTL=49
Reply from 208.131.142.32: bytes=32 time=121ms TTL=49

Ping statistics for 208.131.142.32:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 118ms, Maximum = 130ms, Average = 123ms

C:\Windows\system32>

Offline CorpsDog

  • Prepper
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2010, 11:51:49 PM »
Ive tried both explorer and mozilla with the same results.

Offline CorpsDog

  • Prepper
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2010, 10:26:25 AM »
It states i do not have premission .

Offline sawtac

  • Moderator
  • Senior Survivalist
  • *****
  • Posts: 250
  • Karma: 12
  • Bert the Turtle
    • Sawtooth Tactical
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2010, 02:38:07 PM »
I can't find any reason for this to be happening.  I can't find anything blocking you and there are no log entries I've found.  I'm not sure where to go next.  Anyone have any ideas?

inbox485

  • Guest
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2010, 02:53:23 PM »
Try entering just 208.131.142.32 in the address bar. Might be some weird ISP issue.

Could also try an alternate computer with a different ISP.

Offline CorpsDog

  • Prepper
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2010, 11:56:15 PM »
no luck... takes me to the test page.

Offline Sister Wolf

  • The Tiffanator
  • Administrator On Leave
  • Forum Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 11963
  • Karma: 365
  • Wanna have an adventure?
    • WilderWolf
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2010, 12:02:03 AM »
I asked our local tech support guy to come in here and see if he can help you, Corps Dog.  It might be a day or two, but I'm hoping he can fix this.

Offline CorpsDog

  • Prepper
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2010, 07:11:33 AM »
thank you for all the help.

Offline archer

  • Administrator
  • Ultimate Survival Veteran
  • *******
  • Posts: 17050
  • Karma: 379
  • #ImissAmerica
    • Journey to Greener Pastures
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #13 on: November 30, 2010, 10:42:22 AM »
Hey CorpsDog, tech guy here, incoming PM for you.

Offline archer

  • Administrator
  • Ultimate Survival Veteran
  • *******
  • Posts: 17050
  • Karma: 379
  • #ImissAmerica
    • Journey to Greener Pastures
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #14 on: December 03, 2010, 02:14:39 PM »
OK, after talking to CorpsDog (nice to talk to you), I've determined that the problem is not the computers at his house. I had him run Live HTTP Headers on Firefox and this is what it shows:
http://www.sawtac.com/

GET / HTTP/1.1
Host: www.sawtac.com
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.9.0.19)
Gecko/2010031422 Firefox/3.0.19 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)
Accept: text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8
Accept-Language: en-us,en;q=0.5
Accept-Encoding: gzip,deflate
Accept-Charset: ISO-8859-1,utf-8;q=0.7,*;q=0.7
Keep-Alive: 300
Connection: keep-alive
Cookie: __utma=178326438.1064871833.1260685689.1260685689.1260685689.1;
pageWidth=Fixed; style=null; fontSize=76

HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden
Date: Fri, 03 Dec 2010 20:46:19 GMTServer: Apache/2.0.52 (Red Hat)
Accept-Ranges: bytes
Content-Length: 3985
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html
-----------------------------
For the non-techies, this shows the apache web server running www.sawtac.com is refusing to allow CorpsDog's IP address/network range to connect and get the data from the server.
There is probably a 'Deny from ' directive in a config file (usually in /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf or /etc/httpd/conf.d/*) that is disallowing traffic from CorpsDog's IP/network range.

Let me know if you need help looking at your config Sawtac.

Offline archer

  • Administrator
  • Ultimate Survival Veteran
  • *******
  • Posts: 17050
  • Karma: 379
  • #ImissAmerica
    • Journey to Greener Pastures
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #15 on: December 03, 2010, 02:23:08 PM »
In the meantime, I directed CorpDog to use zend2.com as a web proxy so he can get to www.sawtac.com.

Offline sawtac

  • Moderator
  • Senior Survivalist
  • *****
  • Posts: 250
  • Karma: 12
  • Bert the Turtle
    • Sawtooth Tactical
Re: PROBLEM GETTING ON WEBSITE
« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2010, 02:43:56 PM »
OK, it should be fixed now.  Apparently CorpsDog's IP was in a range of IP's was included when my web guy was removing China and some other countries that were "attacking" the web site.  I'll have him double check the deny stuff to make sure no one is getting deny'd without reason.