Author Topic: Make Your Own Vanilla  (Read 9990 times)

Offline LvsChant

• Resident Master Mudder
  • Global Moderator
  • Survival Veteran
Make Your Own Vanilla
« on: June 13, 2009, 07:34:18 PM »
I've been making my own vanilla for several years now and can definitely see an application for us if vanilla is no longer available in stores...

Buy your own vanilla beans (as few as three for a jar, or as many as you can cram into it -- I usually do the latter). Fill it up with vodka. Let sit (shake occasionally) for about 6-8 weeks. It is fabulous for baking -- my husband also likes it in his coffee.

When it is ready to use, I typically pour it off into an old vanilla bottle, then refill the bottle with the beans with vodka again. I have used the same beans over and over to make vanilla as I need it. If you have a recipe that calls for a vanilla bean to be used, you can take one out of the bottle and use it.

Vanilla beans are very expensive if you buy then singly in stores... don't do that -- they usually aren't very fresh and can cost as much as $7.00 each. Find a food co-op and buy them in bulk... it usually costs me about $24.00 for an entire bag of them -- enough to start several bottles (crammed full).

Use in all your baking recipes (or for coffee) as desired.

Offline Klapton

• BANNED
  • Survivalist Mentor
Re: Make Your Own Vanilla
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2009, 07:53:13 PM »
WAY down on my to-do list is coming up with a reliable tropical greenhouse setup for growing things like Vanilla, Coffee, and citrus.  I found this article on growing vanilla beans:  http://www.essortment.com/home/gardenplantsgr_syjg.htm .  If TEOTWAWKI ends up not happening for a few years, I might get around to this eventually, after the rest of my homestead is up and running.  I might end up being a pretty popular guy if I'm the only person in Montana growing his own coffee, hehe.

Offline LGM30

• Senior Survivalist
  • The cold war didn't just end. It was won.