Author Topic: Some examples of terminal ballsitcs (how bullets may perform)  (Read 3511 times)

Offline Gadget

• Senior Survivalist
    • Your Best Defense
Some examples of terminal ballsitcs (how bullets may perform)
« on: October 18, 2009, 07:03:49 PM »
I’m starting this thread to give examples of how various calibers and types of bullets perform in the real world and in testing. I regularly hear wild tales of bullet performance and I would hate to have someone bet their life (or someone else’s) on how a particular cartridge may perform for them. No bullet can be guaranteed as to its performance on the amazing creation we call the human body.

For a little background on me, I have been a police officer for 14 years and a firefighter/EMT for 7 years before that in the USAF. During my time as a cop, I have been on our SWAT Team for 12 years and a sniper for 11 of those years. As a result of this and being a firearms instructor, I am also involved in testing various types of cartridges for dept. use. I am also a CWP Instructor in my off-duty business. With all of that said, I have seen my fair share of shootings and the effects of many types of bullets.

If anyone has first-hand accounts of bullet performance please feel free to add them.

- 7.62 x 39 FMJ from 15 yards (drive-by shooting): 3 rounds fired – 1 round penetrated exterior wall – interior wall – interior wall – stopped just before exiting oven; 1 round penetrated exterior wall – interior wall – interior wall – stopped in water heater; 1 round penetrated exterior wall – 4 feet of tightly packed hanging clothes in closet before stopping

- 9mm FMJ from Hi-Point pistol from approximately 10 yards from a moving vehicle into a moving Chev Suburban from the rear: bullet penetrated the rear door – 3rd seat – stopped by folding metal plate behind 2nd row seat. If had gone through the plate it would have hit a passenger in the lower spine