Author Topic: Alternative to EPI Pen  (Read 57524 times)

Offline nano.

• Survivalist Mentor
Alternative to EPI Pen
« on: November 18, 2009, 02:38:06 PM »
Sorry if this is old news but I found out an interesting tidbit of information I figure I'd pass on.

In wanting to have all the bases covered with my EDC first aid kit, I was interested in wanting to get an EPI pen. I don't need one but wanted one "just in case".

Since it's only available in a prescription form, the alternative I found out about through my doctor was liquid benedryl. Apparently 50cc's (double dose) of this taken will help greatly reduce the trachea from closing until you can get someone to the hospital if needed.

Anyone on here in EMT agree? I currently carry pill form of benedryl, but am going to add the liquid version to the mix.

Thoughts?

Offline phargolf

• Survivalist Mentor
Re: Alternative to EPI Pen
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2009, 05:16:06 PM »
I am a newbie to this forum but an old hand at prepping, so i hope i am not stepping on any toes since this is my first post. Here goes-Benadryl (generic name diphenhydramine) can help an allergic reaction, But the form of it, whether liquid or tablet does not matter, only the total MG given matters. No, it cannot replace an EPIPEN (which is epinephrine, or adrenalin to us old geezers) for an anphylactic shock reaction where the trachea and respiratory system have problems. BUT keeping an epipen isn't easy either because they have such a short shelf life(most of the ones i get in my pharmacy have about 1 yr on them if i am lucky) and they are very expensive. Bottom line is keep benadryl in your emergency kit and epipen only if you have someone with verifiable allergies to insect stings mainly. IMHO thanks

Offline nano.

• Survivalist Mentor
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2009, 07:13:01 PM »