Author Topic: Backyard slope  (Read 39409 times)

Offline Nazdreg

• Prepper
Backyard slope
« on: November 22, 2008, 10:52:04 AM »
Hi all,

First of all, I have very little knowledge in gardening for veggies, and even though I can swing a hammer I have no experience in landscaping..... so here goes.

I have a slope in my backyard that leads up to my neighbors house, and I want to convert a section of this slope into a veggie garden.

I would have inserted a picture here, but I can't figure that out right now.... perhaps I'm not allowed with a low post count ?

Anyway, the slope is 18' long (the section that goes up towards the fence) at an ~30 degree angle, since we have trees etc. already I can only use about 20' width of it.
My calculations tell me that the 18' @ 30 degrees slope is ~16' horizontal and 9' vertical.

I initially thought of forming it into a "staircase" w/ basically 4 steps, each step would be 4' horizontal and 2.2' vertical.
The 4' horizontal could become a 3' bed with a 1' wide section to step on.

Does this sound reasonable ? If yes, how should I build the retaining wall to keep everything in place ?

Any thoughts, comment, or links are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
/Rene

John Q Public

Re: Backyard slope
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2008, 11:03:48 AM »
Hi Nazdreg,

I think you have the right idea of building a stepped or terraced garden. I would use landscape timbers or old railroad ties to build the retention "boxes."

Something like this could work, albeit on a larger scale:

On a totally unrelated note...I think that this is my 100th post!

Kara

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2008, 11:40:33 AM »