Author Topic: Ammo Compatibility: What can replace the 30-30 winchester?  (Read 24499 times)

Offline longhaul

• Prepper
Ammo Compatibility: What can replace the 30-30 winchester?
« on: December 21, 2009, 06:34:31 AM »
Hi Folks,
My apologies if this is has already been discussed or is obvious - I searched the Net and here but can't seem to find confirmation of what I can buy instead of 30-30 winchester rounds for my lever action rifle that is cheaper.   
I am new to guns (as you can tell) and am looking to get economical ammo for my 30-30 lever action.  Is 7.62 x 39 compatible?  Also, the "30 carbine" rounds seem cheaper and seem to indicate the same diameter.

Thanks for any input.  If anyone knows of a chart showing cartridge compatibility that would be awesome as well - I've looked all around on the net and can't find one.

Offline RipTombstone

• Survivalist Mentor
    • Plum Creek Leather Works
Re: Ammo Compatibility: What can replace the 30-30 winchester?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2009, 07:46:18 AM »
If your rifle is chambered in 30-30, that is all it can shoot!

7.62x 39 is not near the same cartridge, and neither is 30 Carbine.
30-30 is one of the cheapest things to buy off the shelf here, but if you are wanting to shoot it cheaper, learn to reload the ammo.
Reloading will allow you to make ammo much cheaper than buying it off the shelf, and your loads will usually be better than factory ammo, too.

RipT

Offline Who...me?

• Survivalist Mentor
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2009, 10:59:56 AM »
Yes longhaul it is VERY important that you only use the caliber ammo that is stamped on the barrel of the firearm.  Using ANYTHING else will at best get you injured.

Shop around for the best deals or like rip mentioned, learn to reload.