Author Topic: How do you build up a load?  (Read 6059 times)

Offline KC8SON

• Prepper
How do you build up a load?
« on: February 07, 2010, 03:34:12 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I used to reload a million years ago - mainly to save cost.  I shoot 9mm and .308. 

Let me focus on .308 for now.  I have a bolt-action and an AR in .308.  How do I figure out which load for these two rifles?  Bullet weights range anywhere from 100 grain soft point up to 200 grain soft points.  I am looking primarily for a hunting round, but I also want the best accuracy I can craft.  In addition the 27 different bullets for .308 in my manual, each has a dozen powders listed.  Keep in mind that I am not a beginner to reloading, I'm just curious about the best way to start building my ideal round.

Also - I am assuming that the bolt action and the AR will have different optimal loads.  Is it just a matter of loading up a bunch and trying them out?  Is it really just a matter of running through all the combinations?

It looks like there are a lot of 168 grain match grade bullets out there.  Would those be the most accurate?  Would they be effective for hunting?  Do I just have to buy a box of all 27 bullets?

I have a press and dies and know how to do the actual reloading, I just need advice on how to pick the best bullet and powder.

Thanks,

Joe - KC8SON

Offline OJ

• Survivor
    • Big O Gunleather
Re: How do you build up a load?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2010, 08:54:28 PM »
Match grade bullets are designed for in-flight ballistic perfection, NOT terminal ballistics (what the bullet does when it GETS THERE).

So, you're starting out with a compromise right there.

With that in mind, here's what I do:

- pick a powder, typically one that allows for a wide range of velocity without getting too crazy with the pressure at the top end.  Stick with that one powder.