Author Topic: Hunting pack/supplies for beginner?  (Read 4989 times)

Offline Adam

• Prepper
Hunting pack/supplies for beginner?
« on: April 21, 2010, 01:55:51 AM »
I'm a rookie hunter, never been hunting other than as a child once or twice tagging along with stepdad for deer.  I live on the Big Island of Hawaii and will be going out for feral hogs or goats.  Most likely I'll see hogs since it will be in the brush but who knows.  I'll be hunting with Remington 870 w/ 20" fixed IC choked barrel and rifle sights firing rifled slugs.  I know thats not the ideal setup for some but I'm going that route for now just because it only cost me $130 for the barrel rather than waiting to purchase a $500-$600 bolt or lever rifle (which will come later).  At least I won't feel under-gunned and will have quick followup ability just in case I have a "too close for comfort" encounter with hogzilla.  Anyhow, I have the hunting license and the weapon but would like to get some advice from experienced hunters as to what I should take with me.  Furthest hike would be maybe be a couple miles and I'll be going it alone until I can meet a hunting parter/mentor.
Here's what I have thought of so far:
backpack
hunting license/ID
ammo
hunter orange vest
waterproof boots/clothing (doesn't get too cold but LOTS of rain)
compass/map of hunting unit/gps
phone
small first aid kit
water/snack