Author Topic: Aproach as to how to get wife on board!  (Read 2760 times)

Offline Vandido

• Prepper
Aproach as to how to get wife on board!
« on: June 02, 2010, 06:52:14 AM »
Hello Everyone!

I'm new to prepping myself.  Ive been sneakingly doing some here and there without having the wife notice.  I believe two minds with a common goal are way better than one.  She is not totally against me doing the prepping its just that she doesn't want much to do with it.  Of course to her I'm a bit paranoid and that the whole idea is bit too much for her!

She doesn't know that i have been introducing her to some of the prepping ideas.  For instance, we started a raised bed vegetable garden (a small one 7 x 3) She enjoyed the new skill learned.  We have managed to consolidate our debt and really start cranking to pay it off and really watch our spending.  If its not an absolute need we wont purchase it!

I have to say, my wife has come a long way.... she was all nails and hair and high heels!  Now she seems like shes getting a Lil dirty under the nails here and there.  But the point is although shes doing all of this she does not know the message behind the scenes! I'm  not expecting her to drop everything that shes used to now, and just get down and dirty right away and hide in a shelter (i believe that's what she pictures in her mind).

I don't know how to go about it.  Ive tried explaining to her before and she will either dismiss it or just not get any of it!

Maybe i got it all wrong (the message, the idealism of prepping). Maybe I'm talking too Cavemanish.

Ive been looking through the forum and all i can find are checklists.  I haven't found a specific forum that covers the reason as to why we should do this, the importance. 

My plan is to show my wife this thread and let her know that I'm not trying to scare her, but live a better life with her and our 3yr old daughter soon to be 4. For us to live a normal lives with a cause.