Author Topic: What to do with crab apples?  (Read 5587 times)

Offline Political Atheist

• Prepper
    • Medical Marijuana Mentor
What to do with crab apples?
« on: July 01, 2010, 11:23:09 AM »
I have a crab apple tree that produces a ton of tiny apples. I've never done anything with them before and don't really know what to do with them. Does anyone have any recipes, warnings, sage wisdom or other information I should know about crab apples? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Offline Sister Wolf

• The Tiffanator
  • Administrator On Leave
  • Ultimate Survival Veteran
  • Wanna have an adventure?
    • WilderWolf
Re: What to do with crab apples?
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2010, 11:38:57 AM »
You made me go do a search for crab apples with this post!  :)  Thank you!

I don't have any first hand advice at all, but I did just read that crab apples are often used as apple pollinators (planted every 6th to 7th tree in an apple orchard).  And evidently the wood from crab apple trees is just as wonderful for smoking as wood from any apple tree.

So if NOTHING ELSE, you can use it to pollinate your regular apple trees (if/when you plant them) and you can use it for smoking meats/cheeses.

All TSP Members get a 20% discount on any paid membership at Equip 2 Endure! Just enter coupon code "tspforum" (without the quotation marks) to start saving today!

Offline KYdoomer

• Dedicated Contributor
  • Zen Gardener
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2010, 11:55:09 AM »
You can graft wood pruned from real apple trees and get at least one branch making regular apples.

J

Offline Cool Blue

• Survivalist Mentor
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2010, 12:32:26 PM »
I've seen people around here selling homemade crab apple jam.  Here's a recipe I found online:

http://www.canadianliving.com/food/crab_apple_jelly.php

Ingredients

6 6lb lb(2.7 kg) (2.7 kg) crab apples
      4-1/2 4-1/2cups cups(1.125 L) (1.125 L) granulated sugar

Preparation: