Author Topic: Only own one shotgun  (Read 2462 times)

Offline WhiteStarNC

• Prepper
Only own one shotgun
« on: August 19, 2010, 05:52:03 PM »
I would like to start deer hunting this year.  Rather than buy a new rifle I would like to use the shotgun I have - a Stoger 2000 semi auto.  I have been using it for 2 years to shoot trap and it has been very reliable and accurate.  (When I miss a bird it is not the gun!)  I would like to use this same gun for deer.  I know I need to take out the full choke - do I put another one in or just go with the open cylinder.   One size shot/slug should I be using?

Offline joeinwv

• The Bee Whisperer
  • Survival Demonstrator
Re: Only own one shotgun
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2010, 06:46:27 PM »
You have 2 basic directions to take:

Foster slugs - these are fired from smoothbore shotgun barrels with no choke and are good out to 50-75 yards. Plenty of power, but lack accuracy - figure 3" groups at 50 yds.

Sabot slugs - these need a rifled shotgun barrel or a rifled choke tube. This will stretch your effective range out to about 100yds - figure on 3" groups at 100yds.

If it's an option, the Remington Buckhammer sabots are probably the best combo of commonality / accurate / power in 12ga.

Ideally, if you can get a fully rifled barrel that is 18-20" it will shoot slugs better and be easier to carry in the woods. I don't know what Stoeger has for accessory barrels.

Offline DeltaEchoVictor

• Evil Forum Overlord
  • Administrator On Leave
  • Survival Veteran
  • Vincit Omnia Veritas
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2010, 05:31:41 AM »
A dedicated slug barrel is definitely the way to go, if it's a possibility.

You have more options for accurate ammo & better accuracy at range.

Many slug barrels have rifle type sights on them & some offer an option for mounting scopes.