Author Topic: My Excaliber Dehydrator paid for itself in one day  (Read 12610 times)

Offline theadob

• Survivor
My Excaliber Dehydrator paid for itself in one day
« on: September 09, 2010, 01:49:40 PM »
Last week, I got the Excaliber that I had been saving for over the last 6 months.  I was dehydrating some apples when my daughter yells from her room.  The expensive phone that I had just gotten for her fell out of her pocket and into......the toilet.

She pulled it out and cleaned it but water is running out of it.  Its ruined.  I called the phone company and they want $210 to replace it.   Hmmmm......what to do, what to do.  My daughter says, "hey Dad, couldn't we just put it in the dehydrator?"   Brilliant. I took the back off the phone, took out the battery and laid all but the back of the phone onto one of the trays with the apples. 9 hours later as I am pulling out what used to be 40lbs of apples, we pull out her phone all nice and toasty.

She powered it up and boom it worked.  The phone has been working now for 5 days.  Her facebook status that night said, "I can't make fun of my dad's dehydrator any more."  I had been getting a lot of grief about it from her and her mom.

My excaliber cost me $160 because i bought a refurb unit.  I have a savings of $50 now. 

Offline Morning Sunshine

• Geese Smuggling Moonbat
  • Survival Veteran
  • There are no mistakes, just Learning Experiences
Re: My Excaliber Dehydrator paid for itself in one day
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2010, 01:55:27 PM »
ha!  glad it was useful!

Offline LvsChant

• Resident Master Mudder
  • Global Moderator
  • Survival Veteran
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2010, 03:29:23 PM »
Great use of a great tool!

Offline bsutter

• Prepper
  • Photo - Kaiser Jeep M185A3
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2010, 12:38:05 PM »
So now you keep the phone in a Mason jar with an O2 pack??

Offline Morning Sunshine

• Geese Smuggling Moonbat
  • Survival Veteran
  • There are no mistakes, just Learning Experiences