Author Topic: Rabbits in suburban Sydney  (Read 4683 times)

Offline Cuchulain

• Prepper
Rabbits in suburban Sydney
« on: October 26, 2010, 04:22:09 PM »
Hi, all.

I'm quite new to the whole hunting/foraging thing, and there are some complications here in Australia (particularly in suburban areas) which make it quite difficult. No guns. No slingshots. Archery is allowed - although somewhat controlled.

The situation: I have just planted a decent garden, and have a whole heap of green stuff growing in my back yard. It looks like it'll be a nice harvest in a little while. Unfortunately, there appears to be an ever-increasing rabbit population growing in my local area. The last few mornings/nights, I've been able to spot a few out of my window. I'm actually quite ambivalent about this fact - I don't want those little bastards eating my crops, but at the same time I quite like the idea of popping a couple of them in the stewpot if I can get my hands on them.

Last night, upon turning off all the lights to go to bed, I noticed a happy little light brown fellow munching away across the road from me, lit by the lamppost outside our house. It's a sleepy little suburb, pretty much as far north as you can go and still call yourself Sydney. So there's no cars, no people about. I decide to try my luck.

Without any weapon prepared, I have to have a quick think about what to use. Ah, yes - those staves of wood I saved from a weed tree I chopped up the other day. I have them seasoning away in the garage. So I slowly, quietly make my way to the garage, silently open it and heft a 4 foot length up to shoulder height.

I stalk the bunny.