Author Topic: Novice reloader, avid shooter; equipment help and discussion  (Read 4011 times)

Offline Storm

• Survivalist Mentor
Novice reloader, avid shooter; equipment help and discussion
« on: November 20, 2010, 07:28:12 PM »
Hey TSPers!

I'm from WV, so we shoot a lot. However, in recent years, it's become prohibitive. My dad used to reload (20+ years ago) and he just doesn't have the money or time to get back into, so I thought I'd make the inital investment and see where we go from there.

I don't have any handguns I'll be reloading for, so my thoughts (right now) are strictly concerning rifle calibers. We've got quite a few, and some get less use than others. Primarily, I'm looking at .270, .30-.30, .243 and 30-06. This will probably explode into other calibers if I get a feel for reloading and like it enough to do it a lot.

I'm still learning the reloading lingo as well, and that's another thing that I've run into that prevents me from really knowing what I need.

So, my ponderings boil down to a few questions:

1) Starting out with the above mentioned calibers, what would the best entry-level press or kit and from who? (RCBS, Lee, etc.) Note that I won't be doing this every day, I'll probably only do it a few hours a week once I get going, or go at it on a day off from work.

2) Do any of you load and store rifle rounds for use later? I ask this because a friend of mine loads for his hunting seasons and not recreational shooting. However, I wondered if it would be advantageous to buy casings, powder and bullets in bulk (100-500+ at a time) and I thought that was an excellent idea for what my family would need.

I'm sure I'll have more questions pop up in the future. I've done some looking around on my own, but I always like to ask about things I don't know about, or things that could potentially go wrong if I don't take advantage of real, live sources of information.

Thanks for any and all help fellas.

Offline Army03CRNA

• Fledgling Prepper