Author Topic: Deer Processing - How should I have each piece processed  (Read 8207 times)

Offline NotoriousAPP

• Senior Survivalist
Deer Processing - How should I have each piece processed
« on: December 20, 2010, 12:09:39 PM »
I'm a hunting newb, got my first whitetail this past weekend, cleaned it myself and everything.  I have the meat on ice right now in a cooler.  I have two questions:

1) I plan on letting the meat sit on ice for a few days and drain the blood/water daily.  Should I use salt or sugar in the ice chest or is just plain ice fine?  Will using salt or sugar reduce the gaminess of the meat?

2) I will take the meat to a professional meat processor.  I've listed my plans for the meat below, does anyone have any better suggestions on how to use the meat?  Note: I did not save the neck meat and both front quarters were blood shot from the .308 that killed the deer.

Leg's (hindquarters/ham)
-50% of the hindquarter: Jalapeno and cheese smoked link sausage (mixed with 50% pork)
-25% of the hindquarter: Hot smoked link sausage (mixed with 50% pork)
-25% of the hindquarter: Fresh italian sausage (mixed with 50% pork)

Backstrap:
-1 backstrap: fajita meat
-1 backstrap: Vacuum seal only; eat them as is.

Tenderloin:
-2 tenderloins: Vacuum seal only; eat them as is.

Offline KYdoomer

• Dedicated Contributor
  • Zen Gardener
Re: Deer Processing - How should I have each piece processed
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2010, 01:25:00 PM »
Looks like a good plan to me.

Don't add any salt or Sugar.  I'd get it to the processor as quickly as you can.

Jason

Offline boboroshi

• Survivor
    • Sfumato Farm
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2010, 03:13:41 PM »
I agree. Get it to a processor ASAP. I am a firm believer in immediately butchering a deer. We've even done field butchering where the landowner lets us and immediately take it home and cut it up into steaks or toss it in the grinder on the Kitchen Aid for ground venison.