Author Topic: .223 Ammo for a 1:7 twist AR15...  (Read 4650 times)

Offline Amerigo

• Survivor
.223 Ammo for a 1:7 twist AR15...
« on: January 21, 2011, 04:29:55 PM »
I have 650 rounds of .223 UMC Remington, 55gr.  Don't ask me why I bought a bunch of ammo before I owned a firearm to shoot them with.   ::)  I just bought an AR15, and it's a 1:7 twist.  I know 55gr is not the ideal weight for this.

Am I OK to use this through my barrel?  This firearm isn't for competitions or hunting (unless I need to hunt some people stealing my food post-SHTF).  I'm not overly concerned with accuracy, but of course I need to be effective in a defensive situation.  Should I just use this ammo to practice with, but stock up on higher grain for my SHTF stash?  I'm new to shooting, so I'm going to burn through a lot of ammo before I become proficient, and I don't want to break the bank doing it. 

Can anyone recommend some ammo for me that won't cost me a fortune?  I got my current stash for 37 cents a round from Cheaper than Dirt.  What about either of these?
http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/AMM239-5.html
http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/AMM271-5.html

Or is using reloaded brass a bad idea?  If someone could post some links of some ammo they would suggest for both practice and for "the real deal" that would be appreciated.  I'm shooting in the dark here (pun intended).
"Beneath the clothes we find a man, and beneath the man, we find... his... nucleus."

Offline Amerigo

• Survivor
"Beneath the clothes we find a man, and beneath the man, we find... his... nucleus."

Offline Bradbn4

• Dedicated Contributor
Re: .223 Ammo for a 1:7 twist AR15...
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2011, 05:43:18 PM »
223 can be shot in the 5.56 nato rilfes - so no issue
55 grain is a bit light - but should be good out to 100 yards without too much issues.

What type barrel is it?  Standard 5.56 nato, 223, or Wylde chambered?  Wylde is designed to be in between the 5.56 and .223 and will shoot both.