Author Topic: Thinking about getting into rental properties and/flipping houses  (Read 6885 times)

Offline theBINKYhunter

• Does not fall well with plastic guns...
  • Moderator On Leave
  • Survival Veteran
  • Not a tactical baddass
 I'm curious if anyone has experience with rentals or flipping houses. I may have an opportunity in the near future to buy a second home at a great price. This wouldn’t be a BOL in any way, I would be looking at it strictly as an investment. If this property works out it would be a rental, or I’d move into it and turn my current home into a rental, not sure yet.
Also the other day my current boss asked me out of the blue how I felt about potentially flipping houses with him. I realize this is not a get rich quick thing and you do have to be smart about it. Between the two of us we could potentially do most of the needed repairs ourselves. He’s a painter by trade and I’ve developed quite a list of skills through my own home projects.
I’ve had both of these thoughts floating around in the back of my mind for some time now, but have never acted on them. It would be really nice to get some additional income streams coming in and property, if done smartly, seems like a great way to make it happen.
What’s your take on either of these, good or bad or in between?

Offline mnotlyon

• Senior Survivalist
Re: Thinking about getting into rental properties and/flipping houses
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2014, 10:40:56 AM »
I'm curious if anyone has experience with rentals or flipping houses. I may have an opportunity in the near future to buy a second home at a great price. This wouldn’t be a BOL in any way, I would be looking at it strictly as an investment. If this property works out it would be a rental, or I’d move into it and turn my current home into a rental, not sure yet.