Author Topic: Pawn shop silver: was this a deal or no deal?  (Read 7895 times)

Offline ag2

• Dedicated Contributor
  • Been fishin' lately?
    • My Startup Challenge
Pawn shop silver: was this a deal or no deal?
« on: March 09, 2011, 09:18:51 PM »
As a silver newbie, I occassionally stop at a few pawn shops on the way home.  Usually, they don't have any silver coins or rounds.  Today I found the following:
1934 Peace Dollar $24.95 -purchased
1922 Peace Dollar $29.95 - purchased
1921 Morgan Dollar $29.95 - purchased
1921s Morgan Dollar $49.95 - Did not purchase
Winchester indiana .999 silver round $36.00 - purchased
1968 Mexico Olympics round $30.00 - purchased
handful of silver quarters at $6.50 each - did not purchase
handful of silver dimes at $2.99 each - did not purchase

Silly me.  I walked out thinking that the Peace and Morgan dollars were 1 ounce and I kept thinking to myself, these guys are usually better at following the price of silver, but I'm not going to say anything.

After I arrived home, I realized that the peace and Morgan dollars are not a full troy ounce.  Oops
While in the pawn shop, I did the flick test on the Olympics round and it sounded the same as the Winchester Indiana round.  I just looked it up.  72% pure silver and has an Actual Silver Weight of .5208 Troy Ounces.  I think I got taken.

I'll consider it a good lesson.

Offline ag2

• Dedicated Contributor
  • Been fishin' lately?
    • My Startup Challenge
Re: Pawn shop silver: was this a deal or no deal?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2011, 09:30:19 PM »
Maybe I should return to the pawn shop and buy those quarters.  Coinflation shows them worth $6.53 today.  Silver is at $36.13 today.

Offline Crash

• Senior Survivalist
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2011, 10:05:36 PM »