Author Topic: Free-to-air Satellite  (Read 5970 times)

Offline derajer

  • Survivor
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: 8
Free-to-air Satellite
« on: September 19, 2008, 01:06:50 PM »
This subject really belongs in some other forum section, but since I couldn't find a more appropriate one I'll put it here for now.

Free-to-air satellite is satellite television that is broadcast by various national and international sources. There is a lot of ethnic, foreign language, and religious programming, but there is also a wide variety of other types of programming that provides excellent sources of news, information, and entertainment. I believe this is of interest to preppers for two reasons. 1)You can have an increased range of information and entertainment sources, while saving money compared to payed satellite or cable services. 2) due to the nature of satellite if TSHTF it is more likely that you will maintain access to SOME sources of information if your local area loses its broadcasters.

Offline ModernSurvival

  • Just a Desperado Under The Eaves
  • Administrator
  • Survival Demonstrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 3060
  • Karma: 305
  • Liberty is precious, fight to keep it!
    • The Survival Podcast
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2008, 08:06:57 AM »
I think for now this is a perfect forum for this post and it is a great one.  I first learned about this from another podcaster at http://youcansurvivepodcast.blogspot.com/

I am really looking into this for specifically my Arkansas retreat.  I will keep paying Dish the big fees here for now to keep the spousal and son-type units content and well stored, ;D but we only go to Arkansas about once every 6 weeks so I won't pay Sat fees up there it would just be crazy to do so.  From the research I have done I could spend about 200 bucks one time and get lots of stations.  Tons of Religious broadcasting which really isn't up my alley but lots of other interesting stuff too. 

It seems in most areas with a good outdoor antenna and one of these set up you could have a pretty dang good line up for a one time cost and never pay again.

Offline derajer

  • Survivor
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: 8
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2008, 02:26:31 PM »
Cost savings is a large part of my interest in FTA, but my primary interest in it is the ability to receive information from distant locations, just like with SW and HAM. I haven't gotten around to spending the money since I don't have a house, but whenver I get a house this is something I am very interested in.

Offline derajer

  • Survivor
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: 8
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2008, 02:28:23 PM »

batfire

  • Guest
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2008, 07:28:25 PM »
Hi Folks,   Also another thought in this discussion,   If you have internet at home or on road ie.. campgrounds (wifi) etc...  then go to www.fancast.com and you can watch any show or series that's been on TV.  For free and this is a real site not a fly by night get you in trouble site.  They also advertise on TV.  Couldn't believe the number of series and shows available from this site.   The catch?   Like regular TV when your watching a show they have commercials in these also , but their only 30 secs and back to show.  Not bad.  really DVD quality even on the old series ie.. star trek , land of the giants, you get the idea.  Try it out.

Offline DeltaEchoVictor

  • Evil Forum Overlord
  • Administrator On Leave
  • Survival Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 5735
  • Karma: 542
  • Vincit Omnia Veritas
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2008, 01:43:54 AM »
I've been wondering about free to air satellite services.  Sometimes it's hard to tell what's legit, but TV isn't really a priority for me so I hadn't looked into it too much yet.  I know my wife would definitely love something like this.  Thanks for the links, I'll check them out.

GroundPounder

  • Guest
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2008, 09:30:26 AM »
I think for now this is a perfect forum for this post and it is a great one.  I first learned about this from another podcaster at http://youcansurvivepodcast.blogspot.com/

I am really looking into this for specifically my Arkansas retreat.  I will keep paying Dish the big fees here for now to keep the spousal and son-type units content and well stored, ;D but we only go to Arkansas about once every 6 weeks so I won't pay Sat fees up there it would just be crazy to do so.  From the research I have done I could spend about 200 bucks one time and get lots of stations.  Tons of Religious broadcasting which really isn't up my alley but lots of other interesting stuff too. 

It seems in most areas with a good outdoor antenna and one of these set up you could have a pretty dang good line up for a one time cost and never pay again.

Sorry for jumping in on such an old topic but I want to help solve your issue.  What at did at my retreat was to acquire a free Dish from someone that was dropping their service and installed it on my cabin.  When I go out there I just take a receiver from my bedroom and plug it in out there.  Does not cost me a dime extra.  I am close enough that I get the spot beam for my locals and I suspect you would be close enough as well.  Good way to keep up with what is going on back home in a SHTF situation.   

Offline Strangersolz

  • Prepper
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 3
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2010, 10:13:15 PM »
I know it's been a LONG time since anything has been posted on this subject.

The wife and I have been looking into ways to reduce income outflow. We've looked at cutting a lot of nonessentials and satellite tv was one fo them.
I've been doing a little research on FTA and would love to hear a little more in-depth information on this subject from someone with more experience. Like the difference in ku and c bands, satellite dish sizes, receivers, etc.

Brandon

Offline excaliber

  • Survivalist Mentor
  • *****
  • Posts: 504
  • Karma: 26
  • gunning in Iraq
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2011, 10:18:12 PM »
I use to,,, I mean  I had a friend that use to have a pansat 2700 free to air box, I he went online and could download a "fix" for his box by hooking it up to a computer, and EVERY dish network channel was on, everything, all the pay per view, all the porn, all premium channels, everything just worked, the down side was they would change their keys or "codes" every month or so and I he would be without satellite for 3-4 days until the new "fix"  was put on line to download,

then they came out with auto roll keys, so they were down for a bit until someone hacked that,,,

then they came up with a whole new type of programing  (N3) and no fix was available for 8-10 months I think,,,
 and I he just kind of got out of it.

kinda sucks to get home from work and find out everything is down, it's a cat mouse chase, fix, hack, fix.

this falls into the gray area of illegal, so I am not suggesting you do it,

I had another friend that had a legit dish network box, with just the bare basics, and a pansat that had everything, so when it got hacked, he would just flip a couple of switches wired into his cables and he could still watch his basic legit channels for 3-4 days until the new fix came out.

Offline ag2

  • Dedicated Contributor
  • ******
  • Posts: 1034
  • Karma: 41
  • Been fishin' lately?
    • My Startup Challenge
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2011, 01:31:37 PM »
Sounds very interesting.  I currently have basic cable and it's discounted because it is combined with my broadband.  So the ROI on a receiver might be several years.  Tough to justify.

However, my LED Samsung with a small power draw is on a UPS.  From a prepper's position, I like the idea of FTA.  (If it is really free? Quizzical scrunching expression.)

Can I get set up with FTA in a simple-enough fashion that my wife can operate the TV?  I want to avoid the need to change inputs and remotes on every other channel.  Simple is good.  Especially when I hand the remote to the father-in-law or the lovely wife.  I looked at the Logitech Revue once.  Way too complicated for the family, and too many problems/bugs today.  I'm sure that will change down the road.

Offline bartsdad

  • Scrooge McDuck
  • Global Moderator
  • Survival Demonstrator
  • ******
  • Posts: 4025
  • Karma: 237
  • We're Vikings, we have stubbornness issues.
    • SPAMMY Link
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2011, 07:05:54 PM »
Can I get set up with FTA in a simple-enough fashion that my wife can operate the TV?  I want to avoid the need to change inputs and remotes on every other channel.  Simple is good.  Especially when I hand the remote to the father-in-law or the lovely wife.  I looked at the Logitech Revue once.  Way too complicated for the family, and too many problems/bugs today.  I'm sure that will change down the road.
Not a direct answer, but we are on our second Harmony remote and they are wonderful at making a complex cluster of a/v components very family friendly. A single button to start activities and a help feature to make sure all components are set up properly built into the remote make it easy to operate for even the non tech savy.

Offline excaliber

  • Survivalist Mentor
  • *****
  • Posts: 504
  • Karma: 26
  • gunning in Iraq
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #11 on: March 10, 2011, 07:31:42 PM »
yes, even with out the "gray area legal hack" of a pansat or fortec box.

they are legitimate free to air boxes, you can get a few channels totally free news, the nasa channel, religion channels etc.
some weird channel that shows the big wigs in congress in session, and a couple of spanish channels,

with the bigger, old style dishes you can get even more free channels. that would be best for a free to air setup for SHTF,
more chances of catching some good news channels

there are over 20 satellites that each carry several free channels, you just have to narrow down which ones are reachable in your area with what sized dish.

Offline ag2

  • Dedicated Contributor
  • ******
  • Posts: 1034
  • Karma: 41
  • Been fishin' lately?
    • My Startup Challenge
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #12 on: March 10, 2011, 10:52:38 PM »
Can I use an old, existing Dish that was left on the house when I purchased it?  I think it's the Dish brand and has two coax cables going down the side of the house into the basement.

Offline excaliber

  • Survivalist Mentor
  • *****
  • Posts: 504
  • Karma: 26
  • gunning in Iraq
Re: Free-to-air Satellite
« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2011, 07:20:37 AM »
yeah, if it's a dishnetwork 500, it sounds like it is, it should have dual LNB's on the pole that extends out in front of the dish, sounds like it is since it has 2 cables coming from it.