Author Topic: Yeast infections  (Read 5201 times)

Offline dodgetruckmom

• Survivor
Yeast infections
« on: March 13, 2011, 07:10:10 AM »
DISCLAIMER: I am not a doctor, and don't play one on TV. I am not prescribing this for anyone, just relating my experience with it.

I don't often get yeast infections, but recently I had a six-week period of time where I had a recurrent one. I tried all the over-the-counter remedies, to no avail. I could not knock out the infection. It may also have been a bacterial vaginitis, which is why the anti-fungals didn't work. I was NOT going to go to the doctor only to have them put me on an expensive course of Diflucan. While surfing the Internet, I ran across boric acid as a yeast infection/vaginitis treatment. I picked up a bottle of boric acid powder and a nifty little device called The Capsule Machine ($15) at my health food store. Half an hour later I had made 24 capsules filled with approximately 600 mg of boric acid powder (the suggested dose), to be used as suppositories twice daily.

It worked. Within 3 days I had no more infection. For good measure, I also used a couple of probiotic capsules as suppositories toward the end, just to re-establish the proper flora.

Offline Oil Lady

• Lady oil lady oil la-dy hoo
  • Survival Demonstrator
  • My book needs more humor. My pen needs more salt.
Re: Yeast infections
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2011, 09:57:37 AM »
Yours is the very first post that I have the honor of bestowing a +1 upon.

And here's why:

DISCLAIMER: I am not a doctor, and don't play one on TV. I am not prescribing this for anyone, just relating my experience with it.

I don't often get yeast infections, but recently I had a six-week period of time where I had a recurrent one. I tried all the over-the-counter remedies, to no avail. I could not knock out the infection. It may also have been a bacterial vaginitis, which is why the anti-fungals didn't work.