Author Topic: IVs.  (Read 17549 times)

Offline buffalosoldier

• Prepper
IVs.
« on: March 19, 2011, 10:00:14 PM »
How many of you keep IV start kits in your BOB/FAK? do you have a preferred gauge? style?

Also, in regards to IVs I saw a thread on the relative use of said, but the only fluid mention was .9 sodium cholride, AKA NS.
Do any of you guys or ladies keep /12NS? D5? D5 with any K? LR? If so, how much of which and why do you prefer the one over the other?

Offline Asclepius

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Klaatu barada nikto.
    • Prep Roll
Re: IVs.
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2011, 11:11:48 PM »
I think IV's have a place in an at-home first aid kit if you have the appropriate training. I am a paramedic and I do not carry IV's in my backpack FAK. Their use is limited in the layperson first aid setting, IMO. I almost never see 1/2 normal saline given anymore. Neither hypertonic saline. Seems like the hypertonic saline ship has sailed. I would suggest normal saline for most uses. D5 for sick babies. Good luck getting most of that without a prescription.

Offline drthumbs

• Survivalist Mentor
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2011, 03:04:22 PM »
I am going to have to echo Asclepius.  At home and some other situations I will carry them, but never in FAK or in a BOB.  The fluid is just too damn heavy. At some events where a good deal of drinking my take place I will occasionally take my hangover cure, but that is a different story.

Also, in normal day applications, starting an IV is practicing medicine without a license.  Technically speaking of course. (Rx after all)  Not saying that I would not or have not off duty, but if the wrong person saw you and reported you, you could lose you ability to works as a nurse or in the medical field at all….anywhere.   Just be carful if you are going to use anything above basic skills.

But to answer you questions