Author Topic: Any Advice for Australian First time Silver buyer  (Read 3143 times)

Offline warriorpoet88

• Fledgling Prepper
Any Advice for Australian First time Silver buyer
« on: April 28, 2011, 06:56:55 AM »
exactly what it says on the tin gentlemen.

Im new to the idea of precious metal purchasing been reading alot of great info on what to do if your an American
but cant find anything specific for Aussie Preppers.

So should i just take the advice of "go coin hunting" in the local dealer shops here in Australia?

thanks

Offline LvsChant

• Resident Master Mudder
  • Global Moderator
  • Survival Veteran
Re: Any Advice for Australian First time Silver buyer
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2011, 08:18:01 AM »
I'd watch ebay australia for awhile to get a feel for what the market price is and what you might be able to find...

You may also be able to find some local coin shops with owners who could help. In the US we have some big quantity dealers like apmex and tulving who offer reliable online purchases... maybe something similar exists for you in Australia?

One thing that might be of interest to you also is that some of the vintage British military medals were made of sterling silver. Sometimes they are undervalued at pawn shops and antique stores... You may have to do some investigating to be sure of what you buy.

Offline TexDaddy

• TSP Goat Wrangling Geezer. He is EVIL also.
  • Moderator On Leave
  • Forum Veteran
  • I live in Texas. What country are you from?
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2011, 01:35:14 PM »
...So should i just take the advice of "go coin hunting" in the local dealer shops here in Australia?...
This.

Also, Australia produces some truly beautiful PM coinage. It may be possible to order directly from the Perth Mint.