Author Topic: first Wind project-need advice  (Read 4355 times)

Offline 16onRockandRoll

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Prepper Wannabe
first Wind project-need advice
« on: December 27, 2011, 08:29:47 PM »
OK.  I am a decent fabricator, I have some experience with residential wiring, and I understand the basics of electrics (that you have to convert dc to ac etc.)

I got a very interesting Christmas gift from my parents.  They know I am interested in the whole alternative energy/self-sufficiency thing, and I want to buy a little ranch somewhere to build my haven on, so when they saw this at a yard sale, they picked it up for me.  It looks brand new, and comes with exactly what the picture shows, there are no other parts, I will need to fabricate them.  I love a project, and I am really excited to get this one rolling (or maybe, spinning?) but this is a beauty of a piece, so I want to maximize it.  I was thinking a simple DC battery system and some lights or something would be pretty easy, but I would really love to get this thing backfeeding my grid power so that I could save some money on my power bill, and it would be a nice supplement when I get around to adding a few solar panels.

Offline LdMorgan

• Dedicated Contributor
Re: first Wind project-need advice
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2011, 12:27:52 AM »
.... I was thinking a simple DC battery system and some lights or something would be pretty easy, but I would really love to get this thing backfeeding my grid power so that I could save some money on my power bill....

Very nice yard sale find. I think you have an Air X wind turbine, missing the aluminum hub and carbon fiber blades.

That one should be about 46"-60" in diameter, depending on the model, with a max output of about 400-500 Watts.

Take a peek at
http://www.reuk.co.uk/Air-X-Wind-Turbine.htm
and Google on from there.