Author Topic: Do I need a case trimmer?  (Read 9546 times)

Offline sukivel

• Prepper
Do I need a case trimmer?
« on: February 17, 2012, 07:35:37 AM »
My question is how often will I need a case trimmer?

I'm fairly new to reloading, but have been collecting equipment and studying for a while now. I'm looking at buying a Rock Chucker Supreme kit or the Lyman Crusher 2 kit. The only big difference between these two kits is the Lyman case trimmer for basically $30 more.

Also, any thoughts on RCBS Rock Chucker Supreme vs. Lyman Crusher 2?

Offline 16onRockandRoll

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Prepper Wannabe
Re: Do I need a case trimmer?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2012, 09:42:30 AM »
If you can afford it, get the case trimmer. I've been making do without one, but it takes up extra time.  Also, with most semi-auto handguns (among others) headspace on the case mouth, so proper case length is more critical. All I reload right now is .38 and .300 Win Mag, and they headspace on the rim and the belt, respectively. Even with that, I still end up using a file or sanding block to knock a few thousanths off of a lot of them to get them closer to spec. A case trimmer is high on my list.

Offline Greywolf27

• Chief Kitty Petter
  • Survival Demonstrator
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2012, 09:46:56 AM »
What calibers are you planning on reloading?

Offline sukivel

• Prepper
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2012, 09:52:37 AM »
I will be reloading .243, .308, 6.5 jap. 7.7 jap. 44 mag, .30-06, .303 british, .357 mag...probably not much 9mm or .45, but eventually.

I don't shoot alot, but I do have several calibers to shoot.

Thanks for the replies!!

Offline Greywolf27

• Chief Kitty Petter
  • Survival Demonstrator
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2012, 11:14:13 AM »
The rifle cartridges will probably need them (especially those that run higher pressures)
Handgun... I have never trimmed a case and .45 ACP actually get shorter with repeated firings.

Offline hillclimber

• Dedicated Contributor