Photobucket

Author Topic: What to do with $7000?  (Read 2135 times)

Offline clayfarmer

• Prepper
  • TSP Forum member
What to do with $7000?
« on: May 02, 2012, 08:47:44 AM »
So I find myself with a check in hand for roughly $7000.  I won't bore you with why or how....suffice it to say I have $7000 that I didn't have yesterday.  My question is, if you found yourself with $7000, what would you do with it?

I have some savings, but not the typical 3-6 months emergency fund that most people recommend.  I owe about $9000 on a car, and thats my only debt other than my house.  As far as preps go, I'm pretty new at this.  I have about 3 months worth of food stored up.  Been wanting to buy a generator, been wanting to buy some silver, etc etc etc (you know how it goes).

So I guess my question is, whats more important?  Having an emergency fund, getting out of debt, or buying preps?
"It wasn't raining when Noah built the Ark"

Online endurance

• Dances With Newfies
  • Global Moderator
  • Survival Veteran
Re: What to do with $7000?
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2012, 08:56:10 AM »
All three are important, so it's a matter of prioritizing.  Personally, I'd lean toward putting most of it into savings and maybe pick up one big ticket prepping item you've been thinking long and hard about, like a generator or solar.  I'd probably use this as an opportunity to start buying small amounts of precious metals every month, too.  Since none of us know if silver is near its top or its bottom, buying a bunch all at once has its own inherent risks.  However, buying 1-2 ounces of silver a month for the next year or two with some of your windfall might make sense for you.
"There are things that you don't question when your home always smells like baking bread."  From The Hunger Games

“No nation could preserve its freedom in the midst of continual warfare.”   James Madison

Online Morning Sunshine

• Geese Smuggling Moonbat
  • Survival Demonstrator