Author Topic: Muscovy Duck as Homestead Meat Source  (Read 4951 times)

Offline jm0

• Fledgling Prepper
Muscovy Duck as Homestead Meat Source
« on: October 31, 2012, 01:12:15 PM »
I first heard about the Muscovy Duck on an episode of TSP several years ago. A year ago I purchased three hens and a drake, what I learned from this experienced is covered in detail below. Keep in mind that there isn't a lot of definitive information about Muscovies available and I am by no means an expert.

TLDR: In summary, one should be able to produce 40-60 lbs of extremely healthy meat from very low inputs, per hen. Inputs include wintering the drake and all hens, at approximately 1/3lb of feed per day per bird. In the north (45 lat), or 35-80lbs of feed per year. As well as providing shelter to nest, clean water and plenty of space to forage and scavenge the rest of their food during the growing season.

Criteria and Goals
The goal of what I'm calling a “homestead meat source” is extremely low input and high production for personal use. The Muscovy duck seems to be unique in that it is an incredibly independent forager, capable of acquiring 100% of it's feed from the land during growing season. I don't know that this can be said about any other bird, please share if you have first hand experience.

Range
In my experience, Muscovies are satisfied with a range of about 100 meters in any direction. I have not seen mine go further, even to look for water. Otherwise, they will regularly circle this amount of area to find food.

Feed
From my research, so long as Muscovies have access to free range, they do not need any special feed. Therefore, my Muscovies share my layer's 17% layer feed which is based on Joel Salatin's Pastured Poultry Profit book's recommendations. I estimate, very roughly, that they eat 1/3 lb a day when food isn't available outside. They show little interest in going inside to eat during the growing season.

Wintering