Author Topic: Rolling over a 403(b) for cash out?  (Read 6036 times)

Offline WakingUp

• Fledgling Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
Rolling over a 403(b) for cash out?
« on: December 09, 2012, 11:07:29 PM »
Hey all, I recently left a job for a new company and have to figure out what to do with my 403(b). I’ve been contributing for around 5 years and have just a little less than a year’s worth of salary built up. By no means a fortune, but a significant chunk of change. I’m 33 years old and admit upfront that I’m regrettably ignorant in the world of finance. I’m learning slowly, but find myself in need of some guidance that is above my pay grade, so to speak. I’m sure this goes without saying, but I recognize that any advice I receive on this thread is strictly opinion and no one on this forum is responsible for the decisions I make regarding my financial future but me. Ok, with legal bases covered, lets move on.

My wife and I currently have a moderate amount of credit card debt (significantly less than the value of the net 403b cash out), student loan debt (combined, significantly more than the net cash out) and a home mortgage. We don’t have any significant savings built up yet, but we try to put a little away every paycheck. Our plan is to move into a very small home on some family land in the next few months, rent free, and complete a larger home that my father never quite finished. As soon as we move out to the land we plan on selling the house we currently own, which will give us nearly $900 relief on our current monthly debt. I should add that my personal student loan debt is $250 a month and the payoff is roughly equivalent to the net payout on the 403b.