Author Topic: Bolt face errosion!!!  (Read 9789 times)

Offline CountryRootsCityJob

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Yeehaw :D (Unicycles require little maintenance)
    • Building Rome... as fast as I can!
Bolt face errosion!!!
« on: December 27, 2012, 05:39:30 PM »
I've been reloading for a few years now and I just saw something that concerned me on my handgun... it looks like there are some hot gases escaping from around my primers and eroding the bolt face on my auto-loader.  I'm currently using a LEE hand priming tool if that makes any difference - I can hear the RCBS crowd screaming LEE is crap already... really? 

I've fired maybe 600rds of reloaded ammo so far... this seems like it's not a good thing!  What can I do to stop it?  Oh yea, Winchester #7 primers, 4.3gr of IMR 700X and 230gr bullets (.451 cal).  Anything stand out as wrong?

Offline trekker111

• Survivalist Mentor
Re: Bolt face errosion!!!
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 07:38:14 AM »
How do the primers feel when you seat them? I assume you are talking about 45 acp, and if so, that charge of powder seems to be within appropriate levels. Are there any signs of high pressure on your fired brass?

Are we talking about a little ring of discoloration around the firing pin hole, or a rough grove.

• Survivalist Mentor
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 07:16:02 PM »
Update - there was some very minor leading in the barrel which I think contributed to this.  I spoke with on gentleman who thought this could cause a pressure spike, enough to do some nasty stuff to a handgun  :o looks like I need to get one of those lead removal kits...

Offline Luvmy45

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2013, 08:33:22 PM »
Something else is going on.

I am assuming you are loading 45 acp?

That load should be around 800fps... Very soft shooting for a 230gr load in a 45, that will not lead your barrel, you would need a stady diet of 1000fps lead bullets to start seeing leading generally.