Author Topic: Decent day pack for slung rifle  (Read 3068 times)

Offline canprep

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
Decent day pack for slung rifle
« on: July 04, 2013, 12:49:19 PM »
Heh, Guys/Gals does anyone have an idea for a good hunting day pack that will work with a rifle slung on your right side. I'm just getting started and have been out a coupe of times small game hunting and my current pack is not currently working for me. I'm looking to spend around the price of the Maxpedition Monsoon. So any suggestions would be helpful.   

nelson96

Re: Decent day pack for slung rifle
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2013, 01:42:34 PM »
I don't know what a Maxpedition Monsoon costs, but I recently switched from a large fanny pack to a day pack and went with an Eberlestock pack (the G2H) which offers an integrated scabbard that fits between the pack and your back.  This design transfers the weight very well and allows easy retrieval of your rifle on the fly (I've got personal confirmation from last years elk hunt).  I have a few comments about it on different threads here on TSP. . . .  I love it.

« Last Edit: July 04, 2013, 02:01:06 PM by nelson96 »

Offline canprep

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2013, 12:27:06 AM »
Was considering something like that particularly since Bantario has the awesome rule that says the gun has to be encased on all six sides when it's not legal to hunt making it a problem to carry if your caught out too late walking back to your start point. Unless you bring a soft case with a strap on it. I do miss Manitoba you were okay if it was unloaded after hunting hours.

nelson96

« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2013, 08:32:10 AM »