Author Topic: Casting for .223/5.56  (Read 25753 times)

Offline CountryRootsCityJob

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Yeehaw :D (Unicycles require little maintenance)
    • Building Rome... as fast as I can!
Casting for .223/5.56
« on: February 28, 2013, 07:29:40 PM »
As many of us have experienced lately, it's hard to find ammo.  Yes, I am aware that the shortages will go away, but nobody knows how soon.  That leads one to think it would be a great idea to reload, and it is!  However, at the moment it is equally impossible to find reloading components.  While I am not a chemist, which prevents me from making primers and powder, there is always the option of casting bullets.  It is a rather simple process for pistols, although I am still learning about it after 3 years... but casting for a semi-auto rifle scares me a little. 

I know I would need gas checks... those are out of stock till next November, so we'll see.  In the mean while, lets talk about the rest of the process. 

Lube: For pistols I've currently used tumble lube.  I'm thinking that's not the best way to go for a rifle.  I know there is the pan lube process, but for a 55gr .22 bullet, that sounds tedious at best.  I could also drop $200 for a bullet sizer/lube machine.  What other options are there and what are the benefits/shortcomings?

Sizing: Lee makes a nice sizing system for pistols that are tumble lubed.  I also know that the gas checks are installed when sizing the bullet.  Can I use the Lee sizer for this application?  Does the Lee sizer also work for pan lubed bullets?  Can somebody tell me about the other options? 

I know I'm not the only one thinking about this, so please chime in if you have any experience!

Offline trekker111

• Survivalist Mentor
Re: Casting for .223/5.56
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2013, 04:16:52 AM »