Author Topic: Class A driver- worth it?  (Read 10561 times)

Offline USMCAllen

• Survivor
Class A driver- worth it?
« on: April 23, 2013, 08:39:08 PM »
It will cost me six weeks of time and almost no money. But I don't want to be a trucker.

What are some interesting ideas for class A drivers? Is it worth it?

Offline bartsdad

• Scrooge McDuck
  • Global Moderator
  • Survival Demonstrator
  • We're Vikings, we have stubbornness issues.
    • SPAMMY Link
Re: Class A driver- worth it?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2013, 01:33:20 AM »
There are a ton of driving jobs out there that are not OTR.

Construction, local delivery, FedEx/UPS, farm hauling (milk, crops, hay,...), school bus driver(with special endorsements). There are more, but these are the first that come to mind. I maintain mine because I'm a diesel tech and it's just part of the job.

Offline caverdude

• Survivalist Mentor
  • larrydgray.net
    • blog dot Larry D Gray dot net
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2013, 01:57:25 PM »
Why are you becoming a trucker? Are you not going to go to a trucking school? Who will train you for the particular job? Usually there is a training period after trucking school (cdl factory). What prior related experience do you have? Do you have family at home? Are you married? Kids?

In this bad economy trucking is paying poorly yet it can still pay more than no job or more than many jobs and careers. Its a demanding job and career. Gone from home a lot depending on the type of job. Local jobs are usually hard to get because everybody wants one. And they don't always pay well. Usually they have decent benefits however.