Author Topic: Storing babyfood  (Read 3019 times)

Offline Em2002

• Fledgling Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
Storing babyfood
« on: April 29, 2013, 03:28:07 PM »
I am a newbie, can recently tried my hand at canning (soup). I make own baby food and  just wondering if anyone tried storing baby food via canning. If not, what method would work best for long term storage and any suggestions for tasty treat also welcomed. 

Offline Freebirde

• Survivalist Mentor
  • New TSP Forum member
Re: Storing babyfood
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2013, 04:18:31 PM »
Not experienced at making baby food, but if you cannot can the processed baby food, you can can most of the things that you use to make it.   If you have access to a dehydrator or freeze drier you can powder the ingredients for "instant" baby food.

Offline mxitman

• Dedicated Contributor
  • Entrepreneur/HVAC Mechanic/Electrician
    • Heezy
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2013, 04:49:53 PM »
I canned a few things for my daughter and now my son who is 6 months, I did a combination of apple/pear sauce mixed with peas, varieties of squash, beans, potatoes & yams. Also kale, carrot and even cooked & blended eggs from our chickens, everything we grew except the yams.

I found with my daughter who is 2 now that the stage where she was eating blended food was a short period and we didn't use it all, So with my son born in Oct I planned ahead and started canning stuff in the fall. Sure makes it easy now for feeding which he is up to around 3 meals of solids a day of around 1/3 to 3/4 cup at each sitting.

Be sure to add in additional fats like avocado, bacon grease or coconut/olive oils when feeding, helps them from getting constipated. I usually do this after heating it up so it melts and blends in, you can do it before canning but it makes the canning more difficult.