Author Topic: New Compound Bow Suggestions....  (Read 3636 times)

Offline BamaPrepper

• Prepper
  • I tried to be reasonable...I didn't like it....
New Compound Bow Suggestions....
« on: October 28, 2013, 06:35:21 AM »
I have decided to get into hunting with a compound bow, and I could use some help on where to start with selecting a bow (brand, model, etc).  I currently hunt deer with a rifle, and my plan is to purchase a bow, spend the next year or so practicing and getting better and then starting to hunt with it next deer season...

Pertinent information - I have some basic experience with compound bows, but not a ton. I am 6 feet tall with a 75 inch wingspan and a medium build.  I am also left handed.  I would like to stay around $500 for a "hunt ready" bow...and with everything else, I am open to suggestions.

Thanks in advance for any help!!

Offline Jim H

• Prepper
  • TSP Forum member
Re: New Compound Bow Suggestions....
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2014, 12:30:56 AM »
Four quick questions:

What are you planning to hunt? (deer, hog, elk, etc.)
Where are you planning to hunt? (woods, mountains, ranch, etc.)
How are you planning to hunt (tree stand, blind, stalking, etc.)
How was the weight of bow you shot before? (did it seem light/heavy)

On being left handed, are you left eye dominant? Not always the case, my older son is left handed/right eye dominant and my younger son is right handed/left eye dominant. Your anchor point needs to be at your dominant eye or you'll be all over the target.

Biggest mistake down here in Florida is getting too heavy a bow - the most popular deer hunting weight sold in the shops I frequent is 70#, which is overkill when a modern 55# compound goes in and out no problem. That 70# can cost you the shot if the deer looks up and you have to hold it at full draw until he puts his head back down.