Author Topic: 2013 Whitetail Season  (Read 6268 times)

Niccolum

2013 Whitetail Season
« on: December 01, 2013, 08:55:24 PM »
The 2013 regular firearms season for whitetail deer kicks off tomorrow morning at 6:59am here. We've had archery in season since mid-October, and I might try my hand at that next year, but this year it's strictly the long gun. I'll be heading out to my usual place this year courtesy of a good friend. Unusually for Pennsylvania where the first day of regular firearms season on deer is almost a universally accepted school holiday and kids head afield at 13, I'm new to hunting and just got into it in my mid-30s. This is my third year out and while I'm out for meat as well as antlers, I'm going to hold off on taking an antlerless until the end of the season try to be patient for a good-sized buck.

Wanted to throw something out there for 2013 deer hunters - share your stories, successes, failures, why you're out, etc.

nelson96

Re: 2013 Whitetail Season
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2013, 09:06:33 PM »
Good luck to you Niccolum.  Are you mentoring a youth or an adult?

My wife, two daughters and myself, had a great season of mule deer hunting (harvested two bucks).

Offline Frugal Upstate

• Dedicated Contributor
  • aka Jenn Fowler and Jenn @ Frugal Upstate ;)
    • Frugal Upstate
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2013, 04:30:54 AM »
Next weekend is the last weekend of Regular season here...hubs got a buck & doe in a special hunting trip, but nothing at his regular hunting grounds.  We are getting them processed at a local place-$70 ea, you get your own deer back cut, frozen and vacuum sealed :).

He'll take our 10 yr old son out this homing weekend now that the pressure is off just to hang out for the morning & observe w him in the stand.  Father son time & teaching the kiddo to enjoy it.

Good luck!!

Offline hutchsteaders

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2013, 08:08:06 AM »