Photobucket

Author Topic: New snow shovel design - I guess it's supposed to be good? Right guys?  (Read 1246 times)

Offline SloSheepdog

• Survivalist Mentor
Some blogs are writing about this new snow shovel design. I thought maybe some of you might find it useful/maybe awesome? So I posted it. As a mechanical engineer, I like it when a better mousetrap is created.

As a person who has lived their whole life along the coast of California, I know very little about dealing with snow (aside from the occasional mountaineering trip that is) so I can't tell you if this is a better mousetrap or not.

http://www.ohgizmo.com/2013/12/03/wheeled-snow-shovel-is-almost-as-good-as-a-blower/

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001I7JWTO/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B001I7JWTO&linkCode=as2&tag=oh010-20
“I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend.” - Faramir/Tolkien
BOV: http://thesurvivalpodcast.com/forum/index.php?topic=4645.msg390358#msg390358
Prepping does not make you a special snowflake. Its just nesting...with guns.

Offline Oil Lady

• Lady oil lady oil la-dy hoo
  • Survival Demonstrator
  • My book needs more humor. My pen needs more salt.
Re: New snow shovel design - I guess it's supposed to be good? Right guys?
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2013, 03:02:28 PM »
Of the six Simple Machines, I believe it is employing at least three all at the same time. :)

-- Wheel & Axel
-- Wedge (or is it the inclined plane? or is it both? and if it's both, does that make it FOUR Simple Machines?)
-- Lever

The employment of the Lever looks like a real back-saver. :) 
"This is the first scenario I've seen where I question the survivability of mankind." -- self-made billionaire Richard Rainwater in his business analysis of Peak Oil, "The Rainwater Prophecy," Fortune magazine, Dec 26, 2005