Author Topic: opinions wanted regarding first steps into prepping  (Read 2964 times)

Sister Ant

opinions wanted regarding first steps into prepping
« on: April 24, 2009, 08:13:33 PM »
Hi, newbie here. I am not sure where to place this question so decided here is pretty good. What little I have read from other wimmin folk here, you folks are not alone in your prep work. You at minimum have children to help out and more often than not, you have a significant other or spouse. I feel like the lone ranger in my preps. My family are shocked I now have guns/shooting as a hobby and certainly none of my siblings are into thinking about prepping. I mean, no family support. Whatever I do for myself is done by myself with no cheering squad. Having said that, I do have one female friend of similar mind set I can talk to about all of this (prepping).

I am not debt free. I am over 50 and feel I am running against time to prep for future potential problems. Now that real estate values have dropped (in FL), I don't think there is much money to cash out of my house. If I sold my home tomorrow, I doubt I could walk away with much money. I know I need to down size and only way I can figure this might work is buying a duplex and renting out one side. Not ideal and certainly not debt free but would lighten up my finances a bit. Another option might be to buy a duplex with the one friend I mentioned earlier, at least another gun toting (would be) prepper would be under the same roof if SHTF...

Any thoughts on this? Admittedly, this is first of what will be a ton of questions from a newbie.

Thanks,
D in FL

Offline rustyknife

• Dedicated Contributor
Re: opinions wanted regarding first steps into prepping
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2009, 10:59:33 PM »