Author Topic: DesignerGirl28's 2015 Container Garden  (Read 6515 times)

Offline designergirl28

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
DesignerGirl28's 2015 Container Garden
« on: April 12, 2015, 07:01:31 AM »
Here starts my garden journal for 2015's all container garden on a sunny zone 5b cement back patio. Follow along as I try and teach my 3yo son where food comes from and I learn to grow things I have never tried before all in containers. Focus will be on easy to grow foods that we like to eat. My garden photo album http://s1077.photobucket.com/user/designergirl28/slideshow/

3/28 We start the first of our seeds indoors. Yep really late but atleast he now knows how you go from planting a seed to it sprouting. We have Yellow Pear, Roma and Black Krim tomatoes and cucumbers.

4/1
After several days of "Mama are the seeds ready?" and me saying "no seeds take a long time to grow Baby" they popped up! That was way quicker than I thought they would! I rarely start things from seed so I thought it would take atleast a week for these to pop up. Apparently a spot right under a heat vent under the kitchen table is a good place to start them.

4/11
After some bucket collecting, I made our self watering grow buckets! youtube videos abound on how to do it and i followed suggestions from a few of them to get them done. I'm still working on a few 18 gallon tote ones but these are done and waiting for some of our starts. Hoping to make a few more if I can get more fee buckets.

We also planted seeds for radishes, carrots, lettuce, snow peas and chives today.

Here's our current sprouts progress

Offline Chemsoldier

• Pot Stirrer
  • Moderator On Leave
  • Survival Veteran
Re: DesignerGirl28's 2015 Container Garden
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2015, 07:22:40 AM »
Looks promising. Best of luck with it!

Offline Cedar

• ...just aDD water...
  • TSP Supreme Galactic Ant
  • Dont wait for the storm to pass, dance in the rain
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2015, 08:07:40 AM »