Author Topic: Best Airsoft M4 clone  (Read 2336 times)

rugbie

Best Airsoft M4 clone
« on: May 16, 2009, 11:26:26 PM »
Hello,

I own a DPMS AP4 (which is a clone of the AR-15 M4) and I am interested in an Airsoft replica for training purposes and fun.  I am new to the Airsoft movement, so I don't really know where to start.  I went to my local sporting goods store (Scheels Sports) and they had two different models:

A DPMS branded Soft Air USA model http://mediaplan.ovh.net/~cybergun/soft-air-usa/dpms/?item=17735/

and a Crossman Pulse R73 http://www.crosman.com/airsoft/rifles/SAPR73

I am looking for the following features:
 - Has the look and feel of the actual M4 rifle
 - Semi and Full Auto operation (actually, I don't NEED full auto, but it sure would be fun! ;D)
 - Not too expensive (hey, I'm trying to save money here!)

Do you guys have any other suggested models that I should look into?  Thanks.

Offline Darklen

• Prepper
    • Bent Barrel Airsoft
Re: Best Airsoft M4 clone
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2009, 05:46:06 PM »
This should really go into the Airsoft forum as neither of these are air rifles (they fire 6mm bb's, not .22cal or .177 cal lead pellets or metal bb's).

Having said that, I honestly wouldn'ty buy either. They both break in short order. Being from Canada, we don't have the same free access you guys do, so we have to be particular about what we do get. I'd recommend a Tokyo Marui myself. Fairly inexpensive and will last for years in stock form. TM's only real drawback is the plastic body which can break at the stock end. A metal body upgrade will solve that problem in short order. If you can get them there either Jing Gong (JG ) or A&K make some decently priced stuff, though quality is hit and miss. Classic Army make full metal guns, their quality has come a long way int he last few years, but are a bit more then TM.