Author Topic: Half Size W3EDP antenna 6-80 Meters (with a tuner) 42 feet long  (Read 7367 times)

Offline Carl

• Mr HamTastic!
  • Forum Veteran
  • COW?...No ,I haven't seen your cow.
Half Size W3EDP antenna 6-80 Meters (with a tuner) 42 feet long
« on: September 24, 2016, 08:13:44 AM »
As an offspring of the 85 foot long W3EDP comes the Half size antenna for portable ,on the run,operation.
With a 4 to 1 or 9 to 1 balun connected to an 8 and 1/2 foot long section of ladder line (300,450,0r 600 OHM) or TV type twin lead wire.
If the balun has a + or red spot this will be the LONG side of the antenna , connect a 33 and 1/2 foot long piece of wire as the LONG side of your antenna ,
and you are complete.

I am just beginning my testing ,but have been told that 6 thru 80 meters will work well with this ,short for 80 meter,antenna
and you may want to attach a 17 foot counterpoise to you tuners GROUND or radios ground terminal to reduce interference
or HOT radio syndrome as this antenna puts a fair bit of RF into the area about the antenna and you also can benefit from
a coiled coax (dirty balun as 7 to 8 coils about 6 inches diameter) or some snap on ferrite beads when GREMLINS begin sparking
about the house,if used at home... this leads back to my early antenna of a 34 foot and 17 foot pieces of wire on a 4 to 1 balun.

Full size W3EDP antenna link to thread:
http://thesurvivalpodcast.com/forum/index.php?topic=53436.0

My EARLY ,EXPEDIENT antenna:
http://thesurvivalpodcast.com/forum/index.php?topic=49809.0

What is a RANDOM LENGTH wire?:
http://thesurvivalpodcast.com/forum/index.php?topic=55525.msg649171#msg649171

HF PORTABLE emergency antenna:
http://thesurvivalpodcast.com/forum/index.php?topic=55458.msg650056#msg650056

OPTIMIZE your HF antenna for LOCAL coverage:
http://thesurvivalpodcast.com/forum/index.php?topic=58543.msg689396#msg689396