Author Topic: The Flow Hive  (Read 827 times)

Offline CoralRives

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
The Flow Hive
« on: November 02, 2017, 06:50:04 AM »
Sorry if this has been covered elsewhere I used the search function but couldn't find anything.  Does anyone have any experience with the Flow Hive for raising honey bees?  I like the concept but would like an expert's opinion. https://www.honeyflow.com/shop/flow-bundles/flow-starter-bundle-7-frame/p/338

Offline archer

• Administrator
  • Ultimate Survival Veteran
  • #ImissAmerica
    • Journey to Greener Pastures
Re: The Flow Hive
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2017, 10:40:33 AM »
I am a hobbyist bee keeper, been doing it for 7 or so years. I do not like the idea of the flow hive, i have concerns about if the bees will re-use the wax that is sheared or just tear it off and re-make it. and it makes beekeeping more of a 'buy a package, walk away' endeavour. which it is not.

Offline CoralRives

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2017, 11:11:30 AM »
After further research, I have decided the Flow Hive is not what I'm looking for. I don't like the use of plastic as opposed to the wax the bees would use, doesn't seem normal or good for the bees.

Offline fritz_monroe

• The Defenestrator
  • Global Moderator
  • Survival Veteran
    • The Homestead Fritz
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2017, 04:21:21 PM »
There's another thread around here somewhere about this thing.  I don't think this is good for the bees and I don't think that it will produce like it seems to indicate. 

Offline IKN

• Survivor
  • New TSP Forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2018, 08:27:11 AM »
My wife and I have been looking at the FLOW HIVE as well.