Author Topic: Flow  (Read 1861 times)

Offline barnesglobal

• Senior Survivalist
Flow
« on: July 04, 2009, 01:44:39 PM »
I have been studing the martial arts consistently since August 2001.  The biggest challenge I continue to face is flow.  Does anyone have any suggestions on developing flow with technique.  Any and all suggestions welcome.

Barnesglobal

endurance

Re: Flow
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2009, 10:10:36 PM »
Flow is more than just a state of movement in the body, it's about a state of mind where the you become the movement itself.  It occurs with exercises that you have mastered the basics until they are second nature and you are responding more unconsciously or subconsciously than with the mind.  It's one of those things that if you're trying to obtain, it's nearly impossible to reach.

The most common barrier is self-consciousness.  As my downhilling coach used to tell me, "quit yer stinkin' thinkin'".  The difficult part of understanding flow is that it requires a great deal of focus, but at the same time, what we consider normal thinking shuts off.  It's replaced with a soft vision where some higher processing center takes over. 

Learning to relax and turn off the world may be the first step.  If you've never done meditation in either an active of passive sense, you may want to give it a try.  The three most common forms are sitting meditation, yoga, and tai chi.  The first and third don't work for me at all.  I can't sit still and the energy in tai chi makes my skin crawl.  So I used to do a fair amount of yoga.  Rodney Yee's videos on yoga for meditation are a great place to start if you think that's where your block is.  Once I did yoga for a year or so, I had to quit due to some back problems (previous injury).  However, ever since then I've retained the ability to center myself in my body like I never used to be able to do.  It dramatically improved my flow in downhill mountain biking, my former weakness in XC racing.

Offline “Mark”