Author Topic: Yarn spinning  (Read 3626 times)

Hellchick

Yarn spinning
« on: July 29, 2009, 05:14:10 PM »
Hello, everyone!

I'm kind of new to TSP and the forums. I thought by way of introduction I'd post a DIY project I'm frequently engaged in: spinning my own yarn. Is anyone else here a handspinner?

I knit as well so most of the yarn I spin is of knitting weight. But I'm working on honing my skills (I've been a spinner for a few years now) so that I can spin sewing thread. I figure that while yarn is useful, it would also be useful to be able to make my own thread, you know?

I'm also interested in going the opposite direction and learning how to make my own rope. I'm not sure if I have the materials readily available to do it -- I spin my own yarn from the alpacas that I own, and I don't know if their wool would make suitable rope but I really want to try. I'm thinking of growing plants that would give me the right fiber to make rope from and trying to actually make rope literally from the ground up.

I got my first alpacas this year, and the three of them provide me with my own fleece from which I can spin my own yarn. I'm documenting two projects with photos from start to finish here:

http://picasaweb.google.com/law.caryn/SpinningProjectSilverton#
http://picasaweb.google.com/law.caryn/SpinningProjectCinnamon#

Now, I know what you might be thinking: how much of a survival skill could spinning your own yarn REALLY be? I didn't see any threads about it before posting this so I wondered if maybe it wasn't really considered one. But I consider it a survival skill in a number of ways: