Author Topic: Quilters and those that would like to learn  (Read 14843 times)

Offline soccer grannie

• Survivalist Mentor
Quilters and those that would like to learn
« on: September 07, 2009, 07:48:33 PM »
Do we have any quilters or anybody that would like to learn the basics of quilting? I'm no expert but I can get you started and lead you to some great sites that have free online patterns and a buncha photos.

You can buy fabric or use damaged clothing, outgrown clothes, old jeans, etc. The basic tools can be as simple as cardboard pattern templates, pencil and scissors OR a cutting mat, rotary cutter and acrylic rulers. You can sew by hand or machine -- quilt by hand or machine. There's lap quilting which you can quilt in 18" squares, making it a take along project.

I'll be glad to help you get started and share what I know. And believe me, there's plenty I don't know, but we'll find the answers.

Offline Darkwinter

• Junior Evil Overlord
  • Moderator On Leave
  • Survival Demonstrator
  • Has his wife's permission
Re: Quilters and those that would like to learn
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2009, 08:18:08 PM »
Thank you Grannie!  I am working on crochet right now, But I plan on purchasing a sewing machine next year!  My grandmother made some amazing quilts.  We actually have one section of a quilt that my great great great grandmother made.  It is in a frame, and I just love the history of it.  I look forward to reading your posts.

Offline soccer grannie

• Survivalist Mentor
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2009, 09:15:53 PM »