Author Topic: ColdHaven's Hunting Adventure  (Read 9788 times)

Offline ColdHaven

• Coldylocks
  • Moderator On Leave
  • Survival Demonstrator
  • How about a scary crow little fire?
ColdHaven's Hunting Adventure
« on: September 30, 2009, 12:22:47 PM »
Well yesterday was my first day trying to hunt. What did I choose? Squirrels. It was a learning experience for me, and something I have never done before. This was my first time hunting (or more like scouting, but I will get into that in a minute). As the weather starts to cool, and I feel the revitalizing cool freshness of autumn waft through the morning, I am inclined to start on another project besides gardening. There are not that many people that I know that hunt. So I have taken it upon myself to do some research and learn on my own until I find someone who can teach me better.

First of all, I chose the squirrel to hunt because it is: 1) at the very beginning of the hunting season, 2) they are plentiful which means more opportunities to learn, 3) it usually takes inexpensive ammo to hunt them (.22 or #6 shot), and 4) experienced hunters agree you can learn about hunting other animals by starting to hunt squirrels.

I had done some preliminary research on squirrels and how to skin them. If I was going to shoot them I was going to know in advance how to clean them as well. I do not believe in killing just to kill. I learned about their habitat and where most likely to find them. That might seem like a no brainer, but some varieties of squirrel frequent different locales in nature. Its not always just under an oak tree. Heck I stumbled across one who was chillin on a log which had fallen over a trench.